August 2013 Wrap-Up

For my first blog post, I’ve decided to go ahead and finally do an August Wrap-Up because I never got around to making a video for it on my Youtube channel…oops. But you guys will forgive me right? Right?….*cricket sounds*

Oh well, onward and upward my fellow book fiends!


Image

This month I watched only two movies, one great, one so-so.

The Wolverine (2013)

I really wanted to like this movie because I’m a HUGE fan of X-men and Wolverine’s character in particular. I always fall for the tough guy who really has a heart of gold that he only shows to the people closest to him. I definitely have to blame Disney for that one, I mean it has Beauty and the Beast syndrome written all over it, am I right! But anyways, The Wolverine felt like filler between X-men Origins: Wolverine and the next film X-men: Days of Future Past. There wasn’t a lot of substance to this film even though the action was pretty decent and the Japanese setting was a nice departure from the usual U.S. centered films. I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.

42 (2013)

Holy crap guys, just holy freakin’ crap!! I can’t remember the last time I finished watching a movie and repeated, again and again, how much I loved it aloud to my boyfriend. We both had these smiles on our faces that only comes from watching great cinema. Going into this movie, I knew virtually nothing about Jackie Robinson except for him being the first African American professional baseball player. His story is one of courage, tenacity, and faith that choked me up many times. Harrison Ford as Branch Rickey, theBrooklyn Dodgers manager, was superb and entertaining. I’d give this film 5 out of 5 stars.


Image

                                 

I’m sorry but I honestly can’t remember which episodes I watched in August and the ones I watched in September. But I highly recommend both: Continuum for excellent sci-fi if you’re looking to replace something like Fringe, and Big Bang Theory for lots of laughs.


Image

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

Fruits Basket Vol. 1-13 by Natsuki Takaya

I hope you have a great day with an even better book!

Image

Leave a Reply

