Book Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

Title: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Publisher: Poppy
Source: Purchased
Genres: Young Adult, Romance
Pages: 161
Format:

badge-ebook_256

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. Having missed her flight, she’s stuck at JFK airport and late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon-to-be stepmother Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s sitting in her row.

A long night on the plane passes in the blink of an eye, and Hadley and Oliver lose track of each other in the airport chaos upon arrival. Can fate intervene to bring them together once more?

Quirks of timing play out in this romantic and cinematic novel about family connections, second chances, and first loves. Set over a twenty-four-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.

Goodreads buttonBook Depo buttonBN buttonAmazon button

//Cover Chat//

I just love the font and the use of the red against a black and white background. Very striking.

//First Line//

There are so many ways it could have all turned out differently.

//Plot//

 I felt as though the book spent a lot of time on the airplane cementing the relationship between Hadley and Oliver. The banter back and forth was quirky enough to be interesting but it left very little for the other plot points. But the biggest problem I have with this book is Hadley’s forgiveness for her father. For the whole trip Hadley gives very relatable and understandable reasons for why she hates her father and his soon-to-be wife. Then somehow she’s matured enough through her relationship with Oliver that she can forgive them both. As someone who has a very rocky relationship with my own father, nothing ever happens that fast. Also, never having been to London or Europe at all, Hadley somehow manages to find her way across the whole city to find Oliver on very little information…

//Characters//

Hadley and Oliver were both believable in their character flaws and attraction to each other. The new stepmother didn’t get enough time to develop very much but the parents had moments of personal insight that showed their own growth. Overall, quite relatable and made me care enough that I wanted them to be happy.

//Prose//

Not very earth-shattering writing but there were some pretty great lines that I highlighted. Unfortunately it was on my NOOK and there’s no way to search highlights/notes so I can’t show you any examples.

//Final Thoughts//

It was a really cute story but I just separated from a guy who I met very serendipitously, so the romanticism fell kind of flat for me. Had I read this book at another time in my life, I probably would have been squealing about the cuteness.

//Rating//

3 Teacups

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. I really struggled with how Hadley’s father was too. It kind of brought down the book for me. I don’t think I was expecting that & more romance so I was disappointed in that aspect. That said though, I do agree that the characters were likable.

  2. Honestly, had I known about the affair arc I would never have picked this one up. I agree with you that she forgave him too fast. I enjoyed this one still though. The banter between Hadley and Oliver was my favorite part of the book. LOVE those types of scenes.

  3. Pingback: #ReadingCram Challenge: Top Ten Books 2013 | My Life in Books

Leave a Reply

