Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Resolutions

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish

Technically the topic for this week is Top Reads in 2013 but I’ve already done that for the #ReadingCram challenge here! Therefore, since I didn’t want a repeat, I decided to skip to next week’s topic because I’m such a rebel like that. Here are my 2014 resolutions, split into five bookish and five real life resolutions…

Top Five Bookish Resolutions for 2014:
 
1. Events

My ultimate goal is to attend BEA and VidCon, but as those are both RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE, I will have to settle for local readings and book-signings.

2. Organize & Schedule

I’m scary good at organizing but the follow through is a whole other issue. I need to get it through my procrastination-defaulted brain that it’s supposed to make scheduling reviews and posts easier. I don’t organize for hours on end only to delay posting for another three weeks.
Mini RDR logo

3. Book Club

This has a place on my list but I’m already working on this resolution in 2013! The lovely Octavia over at Read, Sleep, Repeat has organized a book blogger book club called, Read, Discuss, Repeat. Unfortunately I won’t be participating in the first club meeting but hopefully I can pick up with the second one.

4. Commenting

I read so many blogs guys but I almost never comment. A reason for this stems from the fact that I rarely  post short comments. Since my comments tend to become mini posts themselves, it’s a bit more work. Lately I’ve gotten better with picking one topic out of the main post and writing a quick little one-liner about it. But I definitely need to engage more on other blogs so I can build more of a community.

5. BookTube

My BookTube channel is so sad and lonely…I haven’t posted anything since September. But all that is going to change now that I have my new JVC camcorder (most loved Xmas present by far). As soon as I get the tripod and memory card I ordered through Best Buy, I plan on being a blogging and vlogging madwoman!

Top Five Real Life Resolutions for 2014:
1. Selflessness

Lately I’ve realized how selfish I am. There are many reasons behind way I act this way but it makes no excuse for how I’ve treated other people as a result. See, I believe that some selfishness is necessary for self-preservation. If you don’t look out for yourself and your desires, who will? But it’s one thing to be selfish for yourself and one thing to be selfish towards others. I resolve to give much more support and love to my family and friends this year.

2. Responsibility

I’ve been putting it off far too long, but it’s time to be a real adult and face the music – I’m in debt. And when I say debt, I mean major-oh-my-god-why-did-no-one-explain-how-much-I’d-be-paying-every-month debt. Honestly, if my family wasn’t helping out with housing, food, and the occasional check, I’d not only be in default but probably homeless to boot. This next year I need to be smarter about my money and make steps towards a future with not just a job, but a career.

3. Making Friends

I’ve been seeing a lot of posts lately about bloggers lamenting their lack of friends. Part of me wants to awkwardly stalk their blog with comments until they get the hint. Another, smaller part just wants to email them directly and say hey, I think you’re cool, wanna FB chat or something, Skype maybe? I also need to start leaving the house so I can run into awesome people, you know, in the real world. But that seems too ambitious at this point.

4. Working Out

Okay so I don’t think that I’m horribly overweight for my body type (*cough* BMI is bullshit *cough*) but I’m definitely 40-50 pounds heavier than I’d personally like to weigh. This is going to be an uphill battle because I hate exercising and finding any healthy food in my house is neigh impossible because I’m not in control of the grocery shopping…

5. Crafting

I’ve had a plastic bag full of yarn, waiting to be crocheted, for almost two years now. Not only would it save me money to be able to crochet presents but I’d feel a lot better about them being handmade and not another Walmart, Target, Sears, insert-yet-another-corporate-store-here product.

What are your resolutions for the New Year? Do we have some of the same ones? I’d love to hear about them!

teacup.png01

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Resolutions

  1. Oh BEA. How I would love to go to BEA. *swoons* but like you said, crazy expensive. I think these are some great goals. I hope 2014 sees you achieving them all!

  2. Great goals! And honestly, I prefer small, local author/book events to the mass hysteria that is BEA. If you’re not a fan of crowds, it’s a nightmare. Sure, you won’t get to see every author you want, but you will probably get more one-on-one time with them and have a more meaningful experience.

    • It’s just harder finding out when local events are happening and I don’t mind crowds at all. I went to NYComicCon last October and LOVED IT! I’ve never seen so many people in one place but it was probably the highlight of my year.

  3. I’m so with you. I want to get to BEA one year but THE MONEY. Boo.

    I love your personal goals! They are big ones and will bring about some big life changes! GOOD FOR YOU for setting those goals! Being an adult is hard, it’s true. But we support you!

    CRAFTING FOREVER.

    • It’s definitely going to be hard but I know that in the long run it’s going to help not only my relationships and future, but also my own mental well-being. Thank you so much for the support, it means a lot.

      Crafting forever, but don’t forget about reading ;)

  4. Thanks for sharing! I see a lot of familiar resolutions here. I want to work on my finances and social life as well! I love the book blogger book club idea, I will have to check it out. Good luck with your goals! ~Megan

Leave a Reply

