Top Ten Tuesday: Worlds I’d Never Want To Live In

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish

While there are a lot of fictional worlds that I’ve HEARD are pretty horrible and should not be lightly read, I limited myself to universes that I, personally, have read and/or watched. If you think about it though, most fictional words are not places that you want to live in. No author would write a perfect world because that would be boring to read about. Even the Harry Potter Wizarding World and Narnia, my top two places I’d want to visit, have some serious hang-ups. But now on to my top ten WORST fictional worlds to visit!

Top Ten Worlds I’d Never Want To Live In:
ReadingCram1
Middle-Earth

Yeah, Sauron is defeated but it’s still a pretty violent place with no modern conveniences. I’ll pass thanks.

ReadingCram2
Nations of Nineteen-Eighty Four

The sad thing is that such governments have existed before…

ReadingCram3
Neverland

While being an adult mostly sucks, there are a good many things that I wouldn’t want to give up. And besides, when you get too old, Peter Pan kills you (at least in the original book).

ReadingCram4
Panem

Self-explanatory.

ReadingCram5
Wonderland

All of this sounds like a bad trip, no thank you.

ReadingCram6
Lands of Song of Ice and Fire

Not only is there an eternal winter happening, but everyone in power are psychotic killers and the only thing between the civilian population and walking ice zombies is a huge wall.

ReadingCram7

The World State

This goes along with Nineteen-Eighty Four but we might already be living in this world…

ReadingCram8
Alagaesia

Again, violent, no modern plumbing, wars aplenty, and an evil king killing all the dragons.

ReadingCram9
Tortall

It’s hard enough fighting for continued women’s rights and equality in THIS society. I can’t imagine how hard it would be at the very beginning.

ReadingCram10

Oz

Much like Wonderland, this would be too weird for me. Also, why would you want to visit a place that appointed some guy who flew in on a hot-air ballon as their leader?

What are some fictional worlds that you would never want to live in? Do you want to live in any of the worlds on my list? Let me know in the comments below!

teacup.png01

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Worlds I’d Never Want To Live In

  1. This is a really good list, Christina! I love the captions for Oz & Wonderland – so true, and I didn’t even think about those! I actually had to split mine into 5 worlds & 5 characters, but after having read a few other TTTs, I think I *could* have come up with 10 worlds. (If you want to check it out – my TTT!)

  2. Oz didn’t even come to mind when I was making my list, I was too busy thinking about Alice in Wonderland! Oz was pretty scary to me as a kid. I was of course, scared of the flying monkeys, but also the Wicked Witch and the Lion… I was even scared Toto was going to die.

    • Aw, poor Toto! The Wicked Witch certainly scared me as a kid, along with the flying monkeys. I never had a problem with the Lion, Tin Man, or the Scarecrow but for some reason I always thought Glinda was a little shady…

    • Brave New World is a pretty great classic dystopian world and heralds a lot of the apathy that is currently happening throughout the world. As for Tortall, I literally cannot recommend the Tamora Pierce books that take place in this word enough. Especially Song of the Lioness quartet, I’m planning on rereading them this year for the gazillionth time (okay maybe only five…).

  3. I was never too keen on Wonderland, I’m glad you listed it. (That and Oz too). They are just a little too far out for my tastes. And anything where modern conveniences (plumbing, air conditioning, heaters) are not a factor, I would be good to do without as well. Great choices!

    • It was easier coming up with the ten places then finding the images…I need to stop being so picky with the graphics I chose to add to these lists. But thank you for the very nice comment!

    • I couldn’t even live as a Hobbit, too gossipy! And Panem is just…unspeakable *shudders*

      P.S. Thank you so much for saying so! I’m always so nervous about how it all looks put together.

Leave a Reply

