Recommend a…Book With Your Favorite Fictional Couple

Weekly feature created by Shanyn @ Chick Loves Lit, hosted by Vy’s Blog.

I debated whether I wanted to post both a canon and shipped couple but decided to stick with just canon. All the ships for another day, another (very long!) post.

Book With Your Favorite Fictional Couple

Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe (Anne of Green Gables series)

When I thought about my favorite couple, Anne and Gilbert immediately popped into my head. Now I haven’t read this series in YEARS but this couple was the first one I thought about. I realized that their relationship was one of the few I’ve read that seemed real. So much of the romance in genre novels these days pushes the boundaries with insta-love, triangles, and incredible circumstances (not to say that these never happen but it’s rare). And contemporaries are not immune from this either, sometimes they are the worst offenders. But Anne of Green Gables is one of the few series I’ve read in which the main love interests stay true to their character and fall in love anyways.

Who is your favorite fictional couple? What is it about their relationship dynamic that you like so much? Let me know in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Recommend a…Book With Your Favorite Fictional Couple

  1. Great couple choice! They’re a classic. I remember reading Anne of Green Gables in Middle School and swooning over their romance. My pick would have to be Tess and Will from The Clockwork series. It’s a more contemporary couple but I haven’t been able to get them out of my head since I read the books months ago!

    • I haven’t read any of the Infernal Devices books yet because the Mortal Instruments series was so disappointing. The only reason I’m still reading them is to see what happened to Simon…

      But I have heard people say that TID is better than TMI…maybe if I get an ARC-free month this summer, I’ll crack them open.

Leave a Reply

