Book Blogger Love-a-Thon Mini Challenge: Mad Libs

This was a very strange mad libs…usually you’re given a list of verbs, adjectives, etc. required to fill in the story and then you plug them in afterwards. Being given the story along with the words made it difficult to choose words regardless of context (which kinda defeated the purpose of mad libs). Therefore, to ensure that I didn’t cheat, I used random word generators for most of the entries. I’m not very good with the honest system :(

One day, I was sleeping with Fitzwilliam Darcy. Out of the blue, a horse came out of nowhere! It was so mysterious, dark and fast. At first, we were afraid, we were petrified, but we gasped. We hopped on bicycle to make our getaway.

As we escaped, we turned up the radio because Call Me Maybe came on and made me laugh. Everything was extremely smooth sailing until an mongoose appeared in the middle of the road. We swerved to avoid it, but while Fitzwilliam Darcy stayed on the bicycle, I got thrown onto my side in the woods.

I couldn’t get up, and felt lavish as I lay there staring up at the trees. What was I going to do? I heard a Boom! among the leaves, and felt embarrassed. Surely, this was going to be my end. As my eyes fluttered shut, the last thing I saw was a head of black hair and blue eyes.

When I woke up again, I was on a beanbag chair. My body hurt a whole lot less, and I could sit up. There was a dog and dress in the room, along with pizza and sparkling water. The door suddenly opened to reveal Jamie Fraser, a concerned look on his face. I blushed and averted my gaze, but he specified and said, “Don’t be shy. It’s okay.”

He came over to sit by me, and we started talking after I told him my name. We chatted about Netflixreading, and blogging and realized we had a ton in common! I thought he was courageous and couldn’t help feeling a little swoon-y.

Just as he reached out for my hand, the door crashed open and in came Jonathan of Conté. “Don’t let him charm you away, my love!” He yelled, running at Jamie Fraser. They each had ladles in their hands and began to fight. “Stop!”, I yelled, feeling so frustrated. They didn’t listen to me. Before I could intervene, Jamie Fraser fell to the floor and disappeared in a cloud of smoke.

“What was that?” I asked, staring at the empty space. Jonathan of Conté dropped his weapon, and came over to me. “Magic, but you are safe now, precious.” He hugged me close, and I suddenly knew that this was the real deal and not just a dream.

Just as All You Need is Love started playing in my head, I woke up. I cursed my righteous luck. Why had it only been just a dream?

 

Eh, it’s not bad. Then again, I’m almost never happy with Mad Lib results. The writer in me wants to create a coherent plot. What did you think of my little story (is it as bad as I think or am I just overreacting)? Did you finish the Love-a-Thon Mad Libs? If so, link it up so I can read it!

8 thoughts on “Book Blogger Love-a-Thon Mini Challenge: Mad Libs

  1. Haha that was pretty good compared to some of the adjectives and verbs I threw into mine. Darcy was one of my book boyfriends too! Thanks for laugh :)

Leave a Reply

