Love-a-Thon Kickoff Interview Swap with Orchid @ The Haunting of Orchid Forsythia

*throws confetti*

Welcome to the official start of the Book Blogger Love-a-Thon, hosted by Katelyn @ Tales of Books and Bands and Alexa @  Alexa Loves Books! I’m so excited to meet all new book bloggers and share the love around our awesome little community. To kick things off here at My Life in Books, I was paired with a veteran book blogger, Orchid @ The Haunting of Orchid Forsythia to do a interview swap. Check out the great interview answers she gave me and then go visit her blog!

1. Describe your blog in one sentence.

This question has taken me days to answer. But, I would describe my blog as:

 A collision of new and old books that have left a mark on me whether for good or not.

2. What is currently your favorite book?

The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen, well, actually that and book two in the series. Her writing, world-building and characters in the Ascendance trilogy just make for excellent reading. They are the first books, in a few months, that have made me stay up reading late into the night because I could not put it down without seeing how the story would end.

3. Do you have any favorite book covers? (choose up to 3)

Yes, I do have a couple covers that I just like to stare at when I need to see something pretty. My top three favorite book covers would have to be:

 Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo

The Lazarus Machine (Tweed & Nightingale Adventures #1) by Paul Crilley

Storybound (Storybound #1) by Marissa Burt

 

What I like about these three covers is that they fit each of their respective stories so well, and give you a glimpse into what the world of the book may look like. I also like that every time I look upon them I’m reminded of how much I enjoyed reading said book. 

4. What has been your top book blogging moment thus far?

Another tough one. *thinks*

I was going to say the time I met one of my absolute favorite authors, but, I went solely as a reader and fan to her signing (didn’t even think to introduce myself as a blogger). That aside, the biggest blogging moment for me would have to be the first time I realized that people were actually reading what I was posting about. It was pretty amazing to know that somewhere, could be anywhere in the world, there’s another reader checking out my thoughts on the books I’ve read.

5. What author, living or dead, would you most like to meet?

Agatha Christie, hands down it would have to be her. I’ve enjoyed reading her Miss Marple and Poirot mysteries for quite sometime and would love the chance to pick her brain on how she laid them out. She is one of, if not, my all-time favorite mystery writers and it would have been awesome to have met her when she was alive.

6. What book have you sworn that you will never read?

Twilight!!! I know there are a lot of people that have enjoyed reading this series and I don’t want to offend anyone, but for me this is one I won’t touch with a 10 ft. poll. I have many reasons for why I’ll avoid reading this series/author, but, that would be one lengthy discussion that would probably not go over well.

7. Who are some of your favorite blogs to follow?

My top three favorite blogs are some that I have been following for a couple years now. I both respect and admire these three bloggers and the work they put into their blogs. Plus, I enjoy the individual way each of them approaches their reviews.

Enna Isilee @ Squeaky Books

Katie @ Katie’s Book Blog

April @ Good Books and Good Wine

8. Shuffle your iTunes and match a book to the first song played.


Song:

Book: 

A Candidate for Murder by Joan Lowery Nixon

9. Show us a picture of your everyday or dream reading spot.

Okay, so, this chair is where I get all my serious reading time in…

Current_Favorite_Reading_Spot

10. Make a book spine poem with your next three TBR reads.

This was hard since I don’t usually plan out my next reads and because I’m horrible when it comes to poetry, but here’s my best shot….

Book_Spine_Poetry
 
The Shadow Throne of
Mistwood’s
Grave Mercy

 

8 thoughts on “Love-a-Thon Kickoff Interview Swap with Orchid @ The Haunting of Orchid Forsythia

  1. That is one comfortable looking chair! I’ve got an overstuff armchair too, but I find it just a little too small to get really comfortable in, without one (or both) of my legs going numb.

    I loved Twilight when I read it, but I completely understand why lots of people don’t (or want nothing to do with it). It has some…issues, haha

    • It is pretty comfortable, especially when you throw your legs over one side.

      My sisters read Twilight (they enjoyed it the first time through) and a couple things they told me about it and the characters made me never want to read it.

Leave a Reply

