Top Ten Tuesday: Reasons I Love Being A Reader

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish

The full title for this week was Reasons I Love Being a Blogger/Reader but I decided to focus on just being a reader. I thought that this topic was going to be a lot more difficult than it turned out to be. Being an avid reader has definitely made a huge difference in my life and I thank my mother each and every day for encouraging my passion.

Reasons I Love Being A Reader
1. Never Bored
There’s always something to read on the subway, waiting for a doctor’s appointment, standing in line at the bank, etc.
2. Knowledge
If you’re always reading, you’re always learning something.
3. Solitude
As an introvert, my alone time is precious and what better way to spend it then reading!
4. Community
Alternately, book lovers know how wonderful it is to share your passion with other readers.
5. Conversation
Whether it’s debating or fangirling, the best conversations come out of reading.
6. Vocabulary
I don’t always speak intelligibly (I blame lack of caffeine) but when I do, I can thank my years of reading.
7. Quotes
Reading has given me words to live by and keep myself motivated through the worst and best of times.
8. Character Relations
It might be a new book boyfriend or a character who is “just so me!”, being a reader means discovering a little piece of yourself written in every book.
9. Travel
As a very poor college graduate, I don’t have the money to hop on a plane and circumnavigate the world but that doesn’t mean I can’t travel through the pages.
10. Escape
Reading allows me to unplug, de-stress, and forgot about my problems for an hour or two; it’s the healthiest way I know how to become myself again.

What do you love about being a reader/blogger? Do you feel like its hobby or an important part of your identity? Let me know in the comments below!

teacup.png01

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Reasons I Love Being A Reader

  1. We have several things in common on our lists! Reading and loving books is definitely part of who I am and not simply a hobby. You can’t spend hour upon hour with books and not be changed in some way!
    I love #7 on your list and it’s one that I didn’t think of–but reading is great for supplying inspiration via a quote that you may find at just the right time!

  2. Such a great list! The escape aspect has always been one of my favorites but never being bored is a great perk! I always have a book in my purse just in case. And I can totally relate to the “being broke and unable to travel” thing. A book is always a great destination getaway.

  3. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

