Top Ten Tuesday: REWIND (Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish

Confession time: I am a horrible, bad, no-good book liar! There have been so many books that I’ve “claimed” to have read over the years. Mostly Pride and Prejudice because I proclaim my Darcy love for all to hear. But I love the Colin Firth Mr. Darcy, the Elliot Cowan Mr. Darcy, the Daniel Vincent Gordh Mr. Darcy. But here are the other titles that I’ve “read” or openly admitted, shamefaced, that it’s on my immediate TBR, promise!

Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read
The Classics
ReadingCram1
ReadingCram2
ReadingCram3 ReadingCram4 ReadingCram5
The ContemporariesReadingCram6 ReadingCram7 ReadingCram8 ReadingCram9 ReadingCram10

What are some books that YOU still can’t believe are still sitting on your TBR? Do you think that you’ll ever get around to reading the books? Let me know in the comments below!

teacup.png01

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: REWIND (Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read)

  1. I love that you picked this topic! And……you’ve never read 1984! Or Enders Game?! *gasp* The blasphemy!!!
    Yea…just kidding :D Bwuahaha
    You’ve got some good books on here though and honestly I’ve only read like….three of them so we can be ashamed together!!

    • It’s one of those hype books that I couldn’t read it while it was all hyped up but now that it’s died down I’m looking back at it like, “I would probably enjoy that…I should read it.”

  2. I’ve read four of these, but I’m sure I could come up with my own list of ten… or twenty… or thirty… Not so much books I can’t believe I’ve never read (because I know my own taste and what I tend to shy away from), but books that other people can’t believe I’ve never read.

  3. Jane Eyre and The Book Thief were both DNFs for me. The former was too boring for me, and I remain squicked out at how Mr. Rochester is old enough to be Jane’s dad. The latter bored me as well, as well as the bizarre language, obscene German words passed off as cute, charming, funny terms of endearment, the obnoxious spoilerific narrator giving away the ending constantly, and how no one ever really came alive for me. I’m having a hard time thinking of a book with massive hype that I actually liked and agreed with the crowd on.

    • I’m not sure if I’ll like Jane Eyre either for the same reason but I just have this feeling that I’ll love The Book Thief. Hopefully I’m right, I’ve been DNFing books like crazy lately :(

  4. I totally understand! Most of those are STILL on my TBR pile and I also own most of them too. *shakes head embarrassed* Although Les Mis is such an intimidating book because it’s so large! Still no excuses lol thanks for sharing!!

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday Rewind: Top Ten Book to Movie Adaptations | Brin's Book Blog

  6. Oh my goodness, you have to read some of these books! I was talking with a coworker today, and we were talking about how a lot of people do not read the classics unless they do in their schooling years. Outside of that, they are usually unlikely to pick them up and read them on their own. You MUST read The Book Thief, The Fault in Our Stars, and The Help sometime, though! They are all amazing!

    -Tiffany
    Beneath the Jacket Reviews

  7. Les Miserables is so long (around 1000 pages) but so worth the time! When I was reading it at school everyone kept asking me why I brought a dictionary to school, lol. It’s an incredible story! I hope you’ll love it as much as I did if you decide to pick it up. :) Great list!

    • Oh, I was supposed to read Les Mis in high school but I became a little bookish rebel in sophomore year and basically flat out refused to read required books….other kids vandalized stuff, experimented with drugs, drank but I didn’t do my english homework *eye roll*

      I was definitely too cool for school, clearly.

Leave a Reply

