Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books I’ve Read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish

Each of these books, in their own special way, have affected not only how I read but also how I write. They have all challenged my beliefs about fiction, narration, character, setting, and language. Some of these have even changed the ways in which I think and process ideas. I highly recommend all these books!

Not mentioned although they would certainly make the list: Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Lord of the Rings, A Song of Ice and Fire.

I tried to pick lesser known series/novels.

Most Unique Books I’ve Read
ReadingCram1
ReadingCram2 ReadingCram3 ReadingCram4 ReadingCram5 ReadingCram6 ReadingCram7 ReadingCram8 ReadingCram9 ReadingCram10

If you’ve read these books, would you classify them as unique? What book would you say has been a unique read for you? Did it effect you like these books changed me? Let me know in the comments below!

teacup.png01

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books I’ve Read

  1. Ooh, I haven’t read any of these books, although some are on my radar. I think an unique book for me, is a book that stands out and is either about a different subject than most, or has a unique writing style. Great list :-)

  2. I can’t believe I haven’t read any of these books. Including The Giver. For shame! I did put Harry Potter in there. But I didn’t add The Hunger Games. I haven’t read a lot of classic dystopians and I wasn’t entirely sure if any had any death as sport scenarios.

    • Unfortunately SINCE Hunger Games, many dystopian novels have featured death-for-sport because they know it works, which is really my biggest issue with YA right now. It’s so difficult to find a YA title that isn’t trying to be something else. It seems that originality is not longer the goal :(

    • I really need to reread the Giver, especially with the movie coming out because it looks nothing like I remember. Granted I read The Giver in like, 4th grade or something, but I clearly recall that their world was colorless and they didn’t use chemical injections to eradicate emotion.

    • Thanks, I’m really striving to pick books that I haven’t talked about previously and everyone else isn’t posting about. When you get 30+ Top Ten Tuesday posts in your reader/email with the same 15-20 books, it gets tedious.

  3. Best use of “Deal With It” GIF in a post goes to…. :)

    I have said this in a few comments now, but I feel like anyone who’s read a Fforde book would have to include him on their lists. His writing is so unique – unlike anyone else I’ve read, honestly.

    I keep meaning to get to American Gods… someday!

    • Hahaha, Meryl Streep is the sassiest.

      I know! I never finished the Thursday Next series and I really need to rectify that soon. Alternate timelines with book characters brought to life? Pure genius.

      American Gods is like a mythology scavenger-hunt, and I was so excited when I picked up on the little hints. And it was just so…real, especially Shadow. He didn’t jump off the page but he didn’t have to because that wasn’t in his character. Can you tell that I loved this book?

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read | Brin's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

